Bill O’Reilly, Kevin Powell, Juan Williams On Rappers, Rap Music, Black Youth – YouTube

 

mookeychase shared, “My folks live in Lafayette Gardens that was no picnic,…”

Mookey, one sunny afternoon me and two anti-crime cops chased a young man through L.G., as he entered the front door of 433 he turned and fired a handgun at me from about 25-30 yards away.

I heard the bullet whizz by my right ear as I watched him disappear into the building never to be seen again. As far as I know this was the first of two times I came real close to becoming a homicide stat.

Sitting on a bench between me and the shooter were some old timers. I asked them why unlike everyone else in the gardens at that time, they did not scatter for cover when the shot was fired?

With a laugh one of the gents replied, “Officer, that kind of foolishness goes on around here all the time.”

Of course not one of the many people who witnessed this act of human depravity came forward to say they recognized the man who placed their entire community at risk for further depravity. 😦

This is another sad L.G. event I witnessed early in my career.

https://knutesniche.wordpress.com/brooklyn-ny-newborn-raised-to-be-a-baddd-boy/

Mookey, another sad reality is that social change and human evolution takes time. After enduring centuries of atrocities human healing takes time.

Growing up in the 60s listening to virtually all American musicians of African descent creating timeless, beautiful music the entire world could admire and boogie to, I was hopeful we would make a speedy recovery from the damage done to many of my American neighbors.

Unfortunately, though certainly understandably, significant numbers of African Americans were not having it. Frankly, as I matured becoming more aware of the unjust and inhumane way my African American neighbors were treated by significant numbers of Euro Americans, I understood their anger, resentment and lack of trust.

Unfortunately well-intentioned yet flawed social policies of the 60s opened the door for understandably depressed, angry Americans to begin building families dependent on their neighbors for support.

Mookey, we both witnessed what resulted from the depression experienced by significant numbers of Americans who felt cheated and demeaned, as well as peeved for willfully being deprived from experiencing their peaceful pursuit of L, L, (Love) & Happiness.

Mookie shared, “Yo my pops was a cop he went to school got a degree in Psychology and a masters when I was in 11 grade. My moms was an evangelist but they couldn’t stop me from hitting the streets but, it was their expectations that allowed me to better myself because they instilled in me that I could always do better.”

For me, not wanting to disappoint my folks and family was the reason I never placed myself at risk for being accused of committing nasty ‘people and community’ offenses. My parents were not perfect, though they did their best to instill empathy and compassion in my psyche as well as making sure I felt safe, loved and cared for. They respected me and sis so I felt obligated to respect them.

Mookie, I am curious to know what motivated you to become involved in The Street, knowing you would disappoint your folks?

Peace.

Please Leave a Somewhat Readable Reply

