Why Are The Children and Grandchildren of My Peaceful Motown Music Friends So Darn Angry?

Restore Pride In Parenting; End Child Abuse & Neglect

red-dothttp://www.kidsmatterinc.org/for-families/abuse-and-neglect-resources/emotional-abuse

https://knutesniche.wordpress.com/2015/06/04/dr-joy-degruy-addresses-black-depression-violence-and-healing/

red-dot

American-Musiciansred-dotWhy Are The Children and Grandchildren of My Peaceful Motown Music Friends So Darn Angry?

Restore Pride In Parenting; End Child Abuse & Neglect

Hi. I grew up during the tumultuous sixties, right along side peaceful Motown musicians who wrote and composed sounds that made me, my friends and neighbors dance and smile celebrating life.

Despite the ignorant beliefs embraced by a population of Americans born before me, their music told me, and influenced me to believe they are good people, deserving of my admiration and respect.

As I matured Stevie came along, Sly Stone visited my life, Jimi joined in too. Billy Davis Jr. was writing and composing sounds performed with the love of his life, an absolutely stunning and talented Ms. Marilyn McCoo, who as far as I was concerned had one of the best and sexiest smiles I had ever seen, and the most beautiful female voice I heard until Carly Simon came along.

All these Americans wrote or performed some of the greatest music I believe has ever been produced…and I was there to witness it all.

Gotta tell ya, I feel pretty lucky to grow up during the period of American history these mega-talented American men and women were making me smile, AND I was able to witness them share their musical magic during their prime.

My Motown friend’s music influenced and conditioned a young developing me to respect and admire them for their peacefulness and talent, loving and purchasing their music was my way of thanking them for sharing it. No doubt my life would have many fewer happy moments and smiles in it, if it were not for these talented American composers, lyricists and musicians.

Unfortunately, today, many young children and teens wake up in the morning, tuning into contemporary music stations, hearing performers rapping or singing about anti-social activities that might possible scare the heck out of them, causing them to fear these musicians and performers, not wanting to respect them because they are abhorred by the messages being conveyed in the sounds they produce.

I was about ten-years-old when I began building a music collection of 45s and record albums. It was not the lyrics that attracted me, it was the musical production that caught my ear. I could not even discern the lyrics for many bands or performers, didn’t matter cause I liked the sound of a particular voice or harmonies and the musical sounds they made.

I have a feeling children/kids today aren’t much different. Many listen to beats and rhythms they like, the lyrics being secondary or unimportant.

I have a feeling if most young people today where really listening to the lyrics, grasping their meaning, understanding the anti-social behaviors inspiring the lyrics, and how peaceful people are emotionally and physically harmed by these anti-social behaviors, they might view these performers differently then I viewed the peaceful American music makers back in my day, before women were characterized as ‘wvtches and bhvres’ or less than human creatures by many of their rap hip hop artist sons and daughters…characterizations similarly embraced by greedy willfully or genuinely ignorant Americans of our racism dominated past.

Americans of African descent who wrote and performed music during my formative years ‘conditioned’ me to believe they are no different from most all my freedom loving American neighbors. As far as I was concerned they are cool, talented people I would like to meet and/or watch perform.

Looking at today’s music, some of it dressed up with music samplings composed by my talented Motown friends to make it sound pretty, I am not seeing the same love for women or respect for other people my Motown friends wrote about in their music.

In fact, today when I read the lyrics written and performed by many of my Motown friend’s children and grandchildren, I cringe. What happened?

Why are many of today’s performers characterizing females, aka our moms, sisters, grandmas, daughters and aunts, as wvtches and bhvores, or people not worthy of love and respect…totally unlike their musically talented, peaceful predecessors who adored women…THOUGH much like some or many ignorant Americans characterized African people for much of our country’s history.

Is it possible popular Americans of African descent are today writing and performing music, that in many people’s minds inspires hatred and fear, leading these listeners to believe many contemporary performers are not worthy of respect or even fit to share in the blessings of our free society?

Is it possible young children and teens listening to today’s performers are more sophisticated than I was, in that they ARE listening to the lyrics and understanding the messages of hate and social disrespect shared by many of today’s performers?

If kids are interpreting the lyrics, realizing they describe and represent anti-social behaviors harmful to individual people and entire neighborhoods, does this impact their development and beliefs?

What I would like to know, and this is a rhetorical question because I already know the answer, why are many of today’s music performers demeaning females?

I’d like to offer my theory for why many American teens and young men are not showing a lot of love and respect for women.

Early in my police career when I was assigned to the Brooklyn community Shawn ‘Jay Z’ Carter raps/writes about attempting destroy by selling poison to people living and working in his community, and rapping about engaging in extremely harmful anti-social behaviors designed to protect his drug operation from rival gangs in adjoining neighborhoods, a few of my training officers advised me to be prepared to experience “culture shock.”

When I asked what is meant by “culture shock,” I was told, “You’ll find out.”

I did find out what “culture shock” is, though it was not a culture of violence and harmful anti-social activities many were insinuating I would be shocked by.

The aspect of this Brooklyn, NY community that shocked me to the core was witnessing children being emotionally scarred by a “American Sub-Culture of Child Abuse/Neglect” that Kendrick Lamar raps and speaks about some twenty-five years after I first witnessed the “American Sub-Culture of Child Abuse/Neglect” that today CONTINUES emotionally damaging many developing children and their communities.

I personally witnessed the emotional trauma and physical pain a young, neglected, unsupervised, Shawn ‘Jay Z’ Carter is responsible for causing, and its aftermath, leaving a community populated by mostly peaceful people fearing for their safety on a 24/7 basis, which are the hours Shawn’s crew/gang were selling community harming substances.

During the twelve years I served this community I met hundreds of peaceful people who were just as shaken, upset and deeply disturbed as I was by the daily displays of violence and other anti-social activities mostly caused by teens and adults who were victims of childhood abuse and neglect.

I was lucky, at the end of my workday I could leave the community, returning to a more peaceful residential community were concerns for me and my family’s safety were significantly lower.

However, virtually all of my civilian co-workers, mostly loving, competent moms living in this community were not as fortunate. They were burdened with stresses and challenges my parents did not face to any significant degree.

The added stresses and challenges my peaceful co-workers faced was preventing their children from being negatively influenced by abused, neglected, unsupervised children being raised and nurtured by immature, “living wild” teen moms and young women who irresponsibly begin building families before they acquired the skills, maturity, PATIENCE and means to independently provide for their family of developing children.

In his 2015 Grammy award winning Rap Performance titled “I”, Kendrick Lamar writes, “I’ve been dealing with depression ever since an adolescent.”

During a January 20, 2011 LAWeekly interview (Google search) Kendrick, born in 1987, the same year songwriter Suzanne Vega wrote a song about child abuse and VICTIM DENIAL that was nominated for a Grammy award, told the interviewer:

“Lamar’s parents moved from Chicago to Compton in 1984 with all of $500 in their pockets. “My mom’s one of 13 [THIRTEEN] siblings, and they all got SIX kids, and till I was 13 everybody was in Compton,” he says.”

“I’m 6 years old, seein’ my uncles playing with shotguns, sellin’ dope in front of the apartment. My moms and pops never said nothing, ’cause they were young and living wild, too. I got about 15 stories like ‘Average Joe.'”

https://knutesniche.files.wordpress.com/2015/05/laweekly-lamar-abuse.png

It seems evident to me Kendrick identified the source of his depression, the roots of poverty, the child abuse/maltreatment that prevented him, his brothers, sisters, cousins, neighborhood friends and elementary and JHS classmates from enjoying a fairly happy safe Average Joe and Josie American kid childhood.

Seems the adults responsible for raising the children in Kendrick’s immediate and extended family placed obstacles in their children’s way, causing their kids to deal with challenges and stresses young minds are not prepared to deal with…nor should they or any other children be exposed to and have to deal with.

It seems evident to me these PARENTAL INTRODUCED obstacles and challenges cause some developing children’s minds to become tormented and go haywire, not knowing OR NOT CARING ABOUT right from wrong…because as the mature, young victims of child abuse realize their parents introduced them to a life of pain and struggle, totally unlike the mostly safe, happy life the media showed them many American kids were enjoying. RESENTMENT

I cannot speak for anyone else, but if I was raised in Kendrick’s family I would most likely be silently peeved at my parents. particularly my mom who had the final say on whether or not I was born, for being immature, irresponsible “living wild” adults who deprived me, my sisters and brothers of experiencing a safe, fairly happy Average Joe or Josie American kid childhood.

Though like many victims of child abuse, most likely I would deny my parents harmed me, wishing to deny I was a victim of parental abuse and maltreatment, and seeking to blame others for the emotional pain and struggle my parents caused to me.

In short, this is my theory for why many of today’s music performers write lyrics characterizing women much the same way some or many ignorant racist Americans characterized my peaceful Motown friends and generations of their parents and grandparents.

In other writings I share my theory for why well intentioned social programs of the 60s designed to help an emotionally depressed population of Americans harmed by human ignorance known as racism lead to a new struggle for Americans of African descent to contend with.

The new struggle faced by children born to depressed people reeling from the pain of racism is systemic child abuse and neglect.

Children like Shawn ‘Jay Z’ Carter (born in 1969) and Tupac Shakur (born in 1971) Jonathan “Lil Jon” Smith (born January 17, 1971), Calvin “Snoop Dogg” Cordozar Broadus Jr.(born October 20, 1971) Snoop Dogg and O’Shea “Ice Cube” Jackson, Sr. (born June 15, 1969) are all EARLY victims of the horrific child abuse resulting from well intentioned social programs of the 60s. Each of these men are victims emotional child abuse and neglect Kendrick Lamar raps and clearly speaks about decades after these older men were born.

I wish I could stop writing here, though at the moment I too am experiencing pain and need to express it in my writings, much the way lyricists and music performers express their frustrations and emotional turmoil in their music.

The pain I am experiencing is from listening to older Americans who were victims of accepted systemic racism once prevalent in our country, continuing to express their pain and outrage at how their moms and dads were treated during the hundreds of years American people of African descent were oppressed.

I understand why these older people continue to live with the pain of racism that prevented them from fully enjoying their pursuit of Life, Liberty and Happiness many of their racist minded oppressors were experiencing during that period of American history.

The anger I am currently experiencing is not directed at American people rightfully and justifiably peeved for being oppressed and treated as less than human.

My anger is focused on Americans who willfully choose to fan the flames of racism while willfully ignoring the issue of systemic child abuse/neglect that today is harming thousands of developing children in communities all across our still developing nation of mostly peaceful people.

When Hillary Rodham Clinton steps up to her presidential aspiring podium and speaks about “White Privilege” continuing to oppress the children and grandchildren of my Motown friends I became livid.

I ask myself how can this educated American citizen who attended one of the finest learning institutions in our land, a school attended by many “PRIVILEGED” and silver spoon raised American people, ignore the child abuse that for decades has been harming many of the children and grandchildren of the Motown musicians I am assuming she admired during her formative years when Motown music was in its infancy?

I know why Mrs. Clinton spews her nonsense, and this is not a theory.

Mrs. Clinton has chosen to exploit the pain and emotional damage experienced by a depressed population of Americans still dealing with the effects of hundreds of years of human ignorance known as racism.

In my mind I have NO doubts Mrs. Hillary Clinton has NO interest in helping heal ALL my American brothers and sisters.

Mrs. Hillary Clinton’s one and only goal is to at any price, further her narcissistic dream of becoming a world leader…and she has chosen to do so by openly and actively perpetuating racial division among American people she wishes to lead.

Frankly, in my heart I believe Mrs. Hillary Rodham Clinton is a sneaky, untrustworthy human being who offers word of division, though says NOTHING about healing and unity which I believe is what 95% of all Americans want to experience in their lifetime.

I was a kid in the 60s learning about communism, reading and listening to news reports of governments oppressing people and running people’s lives. My president was assassinated, in school I was being trained to seek cover when the air raid siren sounded. We were becoming involved in a war (supposedly) fighting communism, a war that could see me being trained to kill people living thousands of miles from my homeland. My most favored older cousin was ordered to Vietnam where he died. Gotta tell ya, it was not all fun and games for a kids growing up in the 60s.

However, it was not all gloom and doom.

Listening to the messages of peace, love and unity being shared by my Motown friends, I had hippie inspired dreams that in my lifetime we would actually live as one American people, each of us enjoying the freedoms envisioned and inspired by the imperfect creators of our “All Men Are Created Equal” society.

Though years later when I personally observed the real-life consequences of well intentioned social programs, and how those programs lead depressed people to building families before they acquired the skills and means to care for their children, I realized my dreams of peace and unity were being jeopardized, impeded by understandably angry and depressed American people peeved at being thought of and treated as less than human.

Witnessing abused and neglected kids like Shawn JayZ Carter “living wild” and harming his peaceful neighbors made me realize that my dream of peace and unity among all my neighbors would not be achieved in my lifetime.

I’ve become more morose knowing there are populations of Americans who ignorantly support Hillary Rodham Clinton’s dream of becoming a leader, while much like her, ignoring the the national epidemic of child abuse harming and preventing young children from experiencing a safe, fairly happy American childhood.

My sadness is compounded knowing many Americans wishing to ignore our national child abuse epidemic, are actively continuing to promote racism as the primary reason for American children of African descent continuing to struggle with poverty and bigotry, is based on their selfish desire to $profit$ from perpetuating their misguided selfish beliefs.

Some of these selfish American people who desperately want to continue promoting racism and bigotry, profit by accumulating cash and personal economic wealth, while others are seeking notoriety and acclaim, while a few are venting decades of simmering anger in the books they write for people to $purchase$.

Folks, racism is rooted in human $greed$. In a nutshell, centuries ago racism was created and perpetuated by sincerely or willfully ignorant humans wanting to exploit free labor which lead to them accumulating more wealth.

In the early seventeenth century when human greed birthed American racism that oppressed, emotionally and physically damaged human beings who helped build our country, a small population of Americans profited from the racism they created.

Today, the seventeenth century human greed which is no different in the twenty first century than it was during the less enlightened period of American history, continues to play a vital role for Americans wishing to perpetuate racism for their own selfish reasons.

Some perpetuate racism because it sells their books, others because it feeds their egos when asked to speak their mind before a (for profit) television audience about social conditions, others because they continue feeling emotional pain caused by centuries of being treated less than equal or thought of as inhuman…

Then there are people like Hillary Rodham Clinton, a supposedly strong independent woman who marries a man I watched defend an American politician who choose to join the Klan to further his political ambitions…a man who while President of The United States humiliated her and her daughter in front of the entire world by having sex with an WH intern their daughter’s age and then lying to the American public about his affair with the young intern.

Based on my non-religious values of love and respect (truthfulness=respect) for all my peaceful fellow human beings inhabiting our tiny blue orb, in my opinion neither one of these wealthy American politicians qualify as role models for the children of our country.

For more than a decade, day after working day I witnessed poverty first hand.

Vicariously, I’ve felt the painful effects of poverty every time I interviewed a victim of anti-social behaviors that depressed, frustrated, angry, neglected, unloved, unsupervised children share with their peaceful neighbors.

I felt the effects of pain caused by poverty when me, they guy trying to help my fellow NY neighbors live a peaceful life, encountered the hate, anger and frustrations of depressed teens and adults who viewed me, a blue American, as man trying to oppress them. When in reality I was placing my own physical safety and peaceful mental health at risk while trying to protect the same people who are hating me.

I am not happy knowing our human past is filled with greed that perpetuated ignorance leading to slavery, that treated the ancestors of my Motown friends as property. Nope, I am not happy at all with our ignorant forefathers.

However, dwelling on our past human ignorance is impeding our progress toward our future as a nation of peaceful people who proudly raise and nurture generations of fairly happy Average Joe and Josie American kids.

Recently, I listened to a popular early evening Fox News entertainer/commentator state we will never end racism, there will always be pockets of it.

I strongly disagree with this man. It may take some time, though perhaps expanding the definitions for our child protection laws, using developing technologies to monitor kids in crisis, and most importantly beginning a national campaign focused on redeveloping PRIDE IN PARENTING peaceful children, will help eliminate the concerns or fear many humans develop when they listen to popular music artists rap and write about the child abuse they were victimized by that caused them to become depressed and angry. Resulting in mass incarcerations that would not occur if more prospective moms and dads took PRIDE IN PARENTING.

Here’s the hippie in me. I realize the emotional pain caused by legal racism of our past is real and palpable for many Americans, including my Motown friends who to this day continue to thrill and make me smile listening the sounds they created many moons ago.

Through their music my dear friends offered me and our world a glimpse of forgiveness for the human torture they unnecessarily suffered. Despite being forcibly removed from their homeland and being subjected to inhuman atrocities for more than a dozen generations, my talented friends wrote music expressing love peace and unity. Perhaps some are not impressed with my Motown’s friend’s civility, but I was and remained impressed today.

Instead of talking about the emotional pain caused by our ignorant past, how about we focus on the pride we should experience when taking on the enormous challenge of raising and guiding our kids to thrive and succeed in a increasingly competitive society, while insuring our children experience a safe, fairly happy Average Joe and Josie American kid life.

 Victims of Child Abuse:

Read popular American rapper Tupac Amaru Shakur (Lesane Parish Crooks; June 16, 1971 – September 13, 1996) lyrics to learn about his love-hate relationship with his mom, his great disappointment with his dad, and about Tupac’s frequent suicidal thoughts.

Read about how Tupac’s drug addicted mother accepted proceeds of the harmful anti-social acts Tupac raps/writes about committing against his peaceful neighbors. I have to tell you, reading Tupac’s lyrics brings back a lot memories of the horrific emotional child abuse I witnessed during the nearly twelve year I provided police services to Shawn Carter’s community.

knutesniche.files.wordpress.com/2015/05/tupac-thats-just-the-way.png

knutesniche.files.wordpress.com/2015/05/tupac-dearmama-lyrics.png

Shawn “Jay Z” Carter (born December 4, 1969) is another victim of child abuse/neglect who raps/writes about the physical harm and fear he caused to his peaceful neighbors and community.

Reading Shawn “Jay Z” Carter describe the pain he caused to his neighbors and community, brought back painful memories, causing me experience much of the same anxiety and pain I experienced from personally witnessing the physical and emotional pain young Shawn Carter caused to individuals as well as an entire housing complex and surrounding neighborhoods.

knutesniche.files.wordpress.com/2015/06/shawn-jayz-carter-brooklyns-finest.png

In 1987, the same year emotionally depressed 2015 Grammy winner Kendrick Lamar was born, songwriter Suzanne Vega wrote a song about child abuse and VICTIM DENIAL that was nominated for a Grammy.

Suzanne nailed it, parents and caregivers do the most horrific things to their kids, yet many kids will defend their abusers, blaming themselves for their “blues,” bruises and injuries before admitting a parent/caretaker harmed them.

“Yes I think I’m okay I walked into the door again
Well, if you ask that’s what I’ll say

And it’s not your business anyway”

#protect-kids-from-irresponsible-caregivers

Please Leave a Somewhat Readable Reply

